This Searing Light, the Sun and Everything Else: Joy Division: the Oral History

Framhliğ kápu
Faber & Faber, 2019 - 272 síğur
An exciting new book on Joy Division, featuring never before told stories.

NamedLA Times Buzz-worthy Books to Look Forward To.

Jon Savage's oral history of Joy Division is the last word on the band that ended with the suicide of Ian Curtis in Macclesfield on 18 May, 1980. It weaves together interviews conducted by the author, but never used in the making of the film Joy Division (2007) which told the story of the band in their own words, as well as those of their peers, collaborators, and contemporaries.

Here are 15 or so vivid witnesses to the band's genesis, meteoric rise, and tragic demise, including Peter Hook, Bernard Sumner, Annike Honore, Deborah Curtis, Paul Morley, Tony Wilson, Rob Gretton, Martin Hannet ... It is the story of young men driven to create and cause rock n' roll havoc inspired by literature, radical ideas, and the wasteland that was post-industrial Manchester in the late 70s. It is as intense and funny and alive on the page as only an oral history can be, recalling masterpieces like Edie by Jean Stein and Meet me in the Bathroom by Lizzy Goodman. It is essential reading.

What people are saying - Write a review

This Searing Light, the Sun and Everything Else: Joy Division: The Oral History

Umsögn notanda  - Publishers Weekly

In this excellent oral history, Savage (England’s Dreaming) chronicles the short life of Joy Division, the band that married punk’s anger with hypnotic bleakness. Joy Division was born of northern ... Read full review

Ağrar útgáfur - View all

Um höfundinn (2019)

Jon Savage is the author of the bestselling book 1966, England's Dreaming: Sex pistols and Punk Rock and Teenage: The Creation of Youth, 1875-1945. He has written sleeve notes for Wire, St. Etienne, and the Pet Shop Boys, among others, and his compilations include: Meridian 1970 (Heavenly/EMI 2005); Queer Noises: From the Closet to the Charts 1961-1976 (Trikont 2006); and Dreams Come True: Classic Electro 1982-87 (Domino 2008).

Bókfræğilegar upplısingar