American Gods

Framhli­ kßpu
Headline Publishing Group, 28. mar. 2017 - 736 sÝ­ur

The extraordinary epic novel from storytelling genius and international bestseller Neil Gaiman. Now brought vividly to life for TV in the highly acclaimed, Emmy-nominated Amazon Prime video series starring Ricky Whittle, Ian McShane and Emily Browning. For fans of Good Omens and His Dark Materials.

'Gaiman is a treasure-house of story and we are lucky to have him' Stephen King

If you are to survive, you must believe.

Shadow Moon has served his time. But hours before his release from prison, his beloved wife is killed in a freak accident. Dazed, he boards a plane home where he meets the enigmatic Mr Wednesday, who professes both to know Shadow and to be king of America.

Together they embark on a profoundly strange road trip across the USA, encountering a kaleidoscopic cast of characters along the way. Yet all around them a storm threatens to break.

The war has already begun, an epic struggle for the very soul of America, and Shadow is standing squarely in its path.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
203
4 stars
170
3 stars
96
2 stars
34
1 star
9

LibraryThing Review

Ums÷gn notanda  - niquetteb - LibraryThing

This was a really long novel that I might categorize as a saga or quest with some sprinkles of fantasy. The writing is rich, but feels like it goes on forever without ever getting anywhere. I enjoyed ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

Ums÷gn notanda  - melrailey - LibraryThing

This is a modern epic fantasy. It took me two tries to get going on this audiobook. For some reason, the first time I tried to listen, I never could get into the story. Then, a year later, I tried ... Read full review

All 40 reviews »

A­rar ˙tgßfur - View all

Um h÷fundinn (2017)

Neil Gaiman is the author of over thirty acclaimed books and graphic novels for adults and children, including AMERICAN GODS, STARDUST, CORALINE and THE GRAVEYARD BOOK. His most recent novel for adults, THE OCEAN AT THE END OF THE LANE was highly acclaimed, appeared on the hardback and paperback Sunday Times bestseller lists and won several awards, including being voted Book of the Year in the National Book Awards 2013: 'Some books you read. Some books you enjoy. But some books just swallow you up, heart and soul' Joanne Harris. The recipient of numerous literary honours, Neil Gaiman's work has been adapted for film, television and radio. He has written scripts for Doctor Who, collaborated with authors and illustrators including Terry Pratchett, Dave McKean and Chris Riddell, and THE SANDMAN is established as one of the classic graphic novels. As George R R Martin says: 'There's no one quite like Neil Gaiman.'Originally from England, Neil Gaiman now lives in America.

BˇkfrŠ­ilegar upplřsingar