Red Clocks: A Novel

Framhliđ kápu
Little, Brown, 16. jan. 2018 - 368 síđur
22 Gagnrýni
Reviews aren't verified, but Google checks for and removes fake content when it's identified
In this ferociously imaginative novel, abortion is once again illegal in America, in-vitro fertilization is banned, and the Personhood Amendment grants rights of life, liberty, and property to every embryo.

Five women. One question. What is a woman for?

In a small Oregon fishing town, five very different women navigate these new barriers alongside age-old questions surrounding motherhood, identity, and freedom. Ro, a single high-school teacher, is trying to have a baby on her own, while also writing a biography of Eivv?r, a little-known 19th-century female polar explorer.

Susan is a frustrated mother of two, trapped in a crumbling marriage. Mattie is the adopted daughter of doting parents and one of Ro's best students, who finds herself pregnant with nowhere to turn. And Gin is the gifted, forest-dwelling herbalist, or "mender," who brings all their fates together when she's arrested and put on trial in a frenzied modern-day witch hunt.

Red Clocks is at once a riveting drama, whose mysteries unfold with magnetic energy, and a shattering novel of ideas. In the vein of Margaret Atwood and Eileen Myles, Leni Zumas fearlessly explores the contours of female experience, evoking The Handmaid's Tale for a new millennium. This is a story of resilience, transformation, and hope in tumultuous -- even frightening -- times.
 

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
6
4 stars
9
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
0

Reviews aren't verified, but Google checks for and removes fake content when it's identified

LibraryThing Review

Umsögn notanda  - wagner.sarah35 - LibraryThing

I'm late to reading this novel, so late that I'm not certain it should be classified as dystopian, since the world described could become real any day now. Using multiple perspectives, the author ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

Umsögn notanda  - Berly - LibraryThing

Red Clocks is scarier for me than The Handmaid's Tale (which I loved!), because it isn't a dystopian novel, set in the future with a different societal setup. It is so frighteningly close to now that ... Read full review

Efni

COVER
THE MENDER
THE DAUGHTER
THE WIFE
THE BIOGRAPHER
3
THE MENDER
5
15
THE MENDER
THE WIFE
THE DAUGHTER
THE WIFE
THE MENDER
25
THE BIOGRAPHER

THE DAUGHTER
THE WIFE
THE BIOGRAPHER
THE MENDER
THE DAUGHTER
49
THE BIOGRAPHER
THE MENDER
THE DAUGHTER
THE BIOGRAPHER
THE MENDER
THE WIFE
13
85
THE DAUGHTER
THE DAUGHTER
THE MENDER
THE WIFE
THE DAUGHTER 31
THE WIFE
THE BIOGRAPHER
THE DAUGHTER
THE MENDER
THE WIFE
THE BIOGRAPHER
ACKNOWLEDGMENTS
DISCOVER MORE NOTES
ABOUT THE AUTHOR
ALSO BY LENI ZUMAS

Ađrar útgáfur - View all

Common terms and phrases

Um höfundinn (2018)

Leni Zumas is the author of the story collection Farewell Navigator and the novel The Listeners, which was a finalist for the Oregon Book Award. She is an associate professor in the MFA Program in Creative Writing at Portland State University.

Bókfrćđilegar upplýsingar